Longlist for the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction Announced

The 2015 Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction has announced their longlist for 2015. The news was revealed at midnight on Twitter. The judges for this year’s prize are Laura Bates, Shami Chakrabarti, Grace Dent, Helen Dunmore, and Cathy Newman. They whittled down the nominated books to the following 20:

Outline by Rachel Cusk

Crooked Heart by Lissa Evans

Aren’t We Sisters? by Patricia Ferguson

I Am China by Xiaolu Guo

Dear Thief by Samantha Harvey

Elizabeth is Missing by Emma Healey

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel

The Offering by Grace McCleen

The Country of Ice Cream Star by Sandra Newman

The Girl Who Was Saturday Night by Heather O’Neil

The Bees by Laline Paull

The Table of Less Valued Knights by Marie Phillips

The Walk Home by Rachel Seiffert

A God in Every Stone by Kamila Shamsie

How to be Both by Ali Smith

The Shore by Sara Taylor

A Spool of Blue Thread by Anne Tyler

The Paying Guests by Sarah Waters

After Before by Jemma Wayne

The Life of a Banana by PP Wong


The longlist features authors who have already won lots of awards (Ali Smith), end-of-year favourites (Emily St. John Mantel), well established writers (Anne Tylers) and as well as newcomers.

Shami Chakrabarti, who is chair of this year’s judges made this statement:

The Prize’s 20th year is a particularly strong one for women’s fiction… with its mix of genres and styles, first-timers and well-known names from around the world. There is a very strong showing of UK writers and we are all incredibly excited about the final stages of the search for the winner.”

This longlist will eventually become a shortlist, with the winner to be announced on 3rd June.

C/o www.womensprizeforfiction.co.uk

Image Florence Fuller, ‘The Inseparables’



Lets be friends! (Opens in new window)