Shortlist for the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction Announced

The shortlist for the 2015 Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction was announced on Monday. The longlist consisted of 20 books, and was announced on 10th March. Since then, the judges Laura Bates, Shami Chakrabarti, Grace Dent, Helen Dunmore, and Cathy Newman, have narrowed the longlist down to the following six books:

Outline by Rachel Cusk

The Bees by Laline Paull

A God in Every Stone by Kamila Shamsie

How to be Both by Ali Smith

A Spool of Blue Thread by Anne Tyler

The Paying Guests by Sarah Waters


The Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction is the only annual book award open exclusively to female writers. Shami Chakrabarti says “The novels we shared and the shortlist we ultimately honour form a body of great women’s writing to entertain and inspire for many years to come.”

Kamila Shamsie, Ali Smith, Anne Tyler, Rachel Cusk, and Sarah Waters have all previously been shortlisted, whereas The Bees is Laline Paull’s debut novel.

The winner will be announced on 3rd June.


Image: Miss Auras by John Lavery



Lets be friends! (Opens in new window)