The Night Before Christmas

12 Christmas Must-Reads

Sick of Christmas already? Stressed because your TV schedule is interrupted with long Christmas adverts, and constant replays of sickly sweet Christmas films on ITV2?

Why not relax on the sofa, pick up one of the following books and unleash your inner Elf.

  1. A Christmas Carol – Charles Dickens.

What would a classic Christmas “must read” list be without this gem. We’ve all seen the hundreds of different versions. Some are brilliant (The Muppets) and some we’d rather forget – so why not finally pick up the book that began it all.

  1. How the Grinch Stole Christmas – Dr. Seuss.

You don’t have to be five years old to adore this quirky and unique read that will have you smiling throughout. A story about a mean underdog discovering the meaning of Christmas – making his heart grow three sizes bigger – is bound to tug on those heartstrings.

  1. The Night before Christmas – Clement C. Moore.

This bright, fun and frankly stunning read is perfect to quickly read to young family members on Christmas Eve. Watch as their faces light up while they sport a hot chocolate moustache.

  1. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe – C.S Lewis.

Although not strictly about Christmas, this book is truly magical. Lewis creates a wintery Narnia, where there is constant thick blanket of pearly white snow, but because of the White Witch there’s no Christmas: now that’s plain mean.

  1. A Christmas Story – Jean Shepherd.

The original story that inspired the hilarious film (A Christmas Story), this book will take readers back to their childhood and what it’s like as a child to really want a specific present for Christmas. Not to mention, it is also a harrowing reminder of how awkward the holiday season can be with embarrassing sweaters and family disasters.

  1. The Snow Queen – Hans Christian Andersen.

The novel that inspired the hit Disney film, Frozen. But don’t let this change your mind about reading the original story. A dark, intriguing and beautiful story of love, The Snow Queen has real charm.

(Fun fact: Disney named the film’s baddy “Hans” after the author!)

  1. Let it Snow – John Green, Maureen Johnson, and Lauren Myracle.

Three connecting short stories by three of the best and respected Young Adult authors around. These three quirky, snappy and delightful stories are a perfect read during the Christmas rush.

  1. The Snow Child – Eowyn Ivey.

A breath-taking story about love and loss, and how a struggling married couple come to love a little girl in the woods, as their own. This modern fairy-tale is filled with joy and sorrow, try and survive this book without tear-staining the pages.

  1. The Golden Compass – Philip Pullman.

This fantastical read is unbelievably creative with an intense plot and an array of mythical creatures. Although classed as a children’s book, this high-fantasy novel is ideal for fans of Lord of the Rings and The Chronicles of Narnia, with Pullman making references to spirituality, religion, morality and the existence of the soul throughout the novel.

  1. Twelfth Night – William Shakespeare.

The man, the myth, the legend. It would be barbaric to create a “must read” list without including the man himself, William Shakespeare. Twelfth Night is one of his comedic plays, with idiotic characters and a hilariously preposterous love triangle.

  1. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone – J.K Rowling.

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone is definitely NOT a Christmas novel, but there is reasoning behind its appearance on this list. Harry Potter, after years of neglect from his Aunt and Uncle, never had a happy Christmas – until his first Hogwarts Christmas.

  1. Little Women – Louisa May Alcott.

Another radiantly touching classic, but this time centred around strong and brilliant women in an era where men ruled. Although poor, with an absent father due to the Civil War, the powerful relationships between the March sisters is incredibly heart-warming during the Christmas festivities. This will make you appreciate family.

Comments

comments




Lets be friends! (Opens in new window)